About last night.

Friday! The day of possibilities! Don’t we all love Mister Friday?

Turns out, if you are new/newish mom, the answer is no. For you’ll haul your sorry ass from work to home on a Friday evening, prepare dinner for your bub, then get the said bub to sleep by 9 PM and be home bound for the rest of the night. Fridyay? I say, Fridnay.

While I was stuck in a humongous traffic snarl (triggered by the one of the first monsoon shower) on Old Madras Road last night, I wondered what could I do to rescue yet another wasted Friday evening. But it had to be:

  1. Exciting
  2. Can be done at home
  3. Does not require a ton of clean up
  4. Something I hadn’t done in a while

I know. My first thought was exactly what you are thinking. But point 4. So I decided to bake a cake. And not any random cake sir, but my most favourite dessert in this whole wide world- a plain baked cheesecake. A quick Google search and a pit stop at Godrej Nature’s Basket later, I was a woman on a gluttony mission.

Since this was the first time I was baking a cheesecake, I followed a well reviewed recipe. I made a few changes because of:

  1. my lifelong struggle with following instructions
  2. Post-partum weight loss
  3. I prefer my desserts to be less sweet

So here’s my modified recipe, which yielded an excellent cheesecake (seriously, nobody could guess that it was my first attempt at baking a cheesecake).

Ingredients

Crust:
2 cups finely ground wholewheat digestive biscuits
Half cup virgin coconut oil, melted (you can use butter but coconut oil is a healthier fat and lends a nice nutty flavor to the crust)
Filling:
400 gms cream cheese (I went looking for Philadelphia cream cheese, but a stick costed 700 bucks so I opted for a cheaper Indian option-Creamella at 200 bucks a stick)
3 eggs
1/2 cup sugar (1 cup as per the recipe, as I said I like my desserts less sweet)
1/4 cup greek yogurt (recipe dictates sour cream but greek yogurt is healthier)
1 lemon, zested (take an unripe/green lime- I feel it has a more pronounced flavor)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

I followed the baking directions to tee, except I kept the oven temperature at 180 C (I was stuck in traffic for over 2 hours, I miscalculated the temperature conversion, cake didn’t burn) and baked the cake for 50 mins till it had a warm glow on the top. I skipped the blueberries as I like my cheesecake plain and naked.

I don’t have any preparation pictures, but here’s how the cake looked:

Processed with VSCO with 5 preset
And here you can salivate over just how creamy, fluffy and light it turned out to be.

Processed with VSCO

 

My Saturday morning breakfast was a giant slice of cheesecake and a big mug of coffee. Mic drop. Apoorva out.

2 responses to “About last night.

  1. Gosh, that looks like a WINNING cheesecake! And those are winning pics of said cheesecake. Also, SO unfair of you to spring those pics on me in my sorry pajamas at 12:12 AM with no chance of a scoring a cheesecake where I am (Ranchi) and no chance of baking one either (untalented).

Leave a Reply

